Connect with us


Virginia’s 4 p.m. burn law takes effect next week



Virginia’s burn ban goes into effect next week on Monday.

This ban on open-air burning before 4 p.m. to midnight is in effect through April 30 and applies to all open-air burning that occurs within 300 feet of woodland.

Citizens are asked to stay until the fire is completely out.

The law provides for a penalty of up to $500, plus payment of court costs and fire suppression costs if the fire escapes.

“The beginning of the 4 p.m. Burning Law is a great reminder that some of the best ways people can help in wildfire prevention are to wait till after 4 p.m. to burn, choose the right weather for outdoor fires, and clear an area surrounding the burn of flammable material before burning. Being smart, legal and responsible with fire really and truly is the answer,” Virginia State Forester Rob Farrell said.

The only materials allowed to be burned are paper, cardboard, leaves, and tree, yard and garden trimmings located on the premises.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *