Richmond, Virginia – New laws were enacted that will take effect in 2022 in the Commonwealth.
The minimum wage in Virginia has increased from $9.50 to $11 per hour. Virginia’s minimum wage will rise every year until it hits $15 per hour in 2026.
Virginia’s minimum auto insurance coverage is expected to rise on January 1st. Drivers will now be required to cover a minimum of $30,000 in bodily injury or death coverage for one person and $60,000 in bodily injury or death for two or more people. In 2025, these minimums, as well as the minimum coverage for property damage, will be raised once more.
On January 1, 2022, a Virginia law mandating all local elections to be relocated from May to November takes effect.
Within city borders, the city of Roanoke will start charging a $0.05 tax on disposable plastic bags given out by grocery stores, convenience stores, and drugstores.
Beginning Jan. 1, camping and lying on sidewalks in the city of Roanoke will be violations punishable by a fine.
Beginning Jan. 5, 2022, the city of Lynchburg will raise the starting wage for all Lynchburg Police Department officers to $50,000, including bringing all current officers up to that rate.